NAGARA Annual Awards Program

Annually, NAGARA recognizes leaders and innovators in the field of government archives and records management with our Annual Awards Program. This is a great opportunity to celebrate the achievements of your associates and friends in NAGARA.

Each award has unique requirements for eligibility and criteria for selection. Do you know a colleague that has found creative ways to further diversity, equity, and inclusion? Is there someone who deserves recognition for a significant contribution to NAGARA or the profession? Award recipients will be recognized at Annual Awards Luncheon, as part of the 2024 NAGARA Annual Conference held in Atlanta, Georgia this July. Award recipients will also be featured on the NAGARA website and social media throughout the year. 

Click on the tabbed headings below to learn more about each of NAGARA's annual awards.

Also to consider: 

 Recipients of NAGARA's annual awards program reap benefits in numerous ways: 

  • Government, state and local representatives all enjoy when good things happen in their communities and to their constituents. These awards confirm that good things are happening; 
  • Acknowledgement from peers as well as a national professional organization creates notability from the recipient's office and agency; 
  • Award recipients obtain extra opportunities for press releases and photo-ops to draw attention to their respective archival and records programs. The award even opens doors for recipients to be acknowledged at a regular public meeting of their government; 
  • Recipients receive bragging rights, thus calling attention to our profession and the important work we do; and
  • The award promotes the recipient’s program/agency and may be used to introduce new users to their collections and public services. 

Submitting Nominations

Nominations must include the name(s) and contact information of the nominee, the name and contact information of the nominator, an abstract not to exceed 200 words, and a narrative statement of 500 – 1500 words indicating why this person/program should receive the award. Endorsement letters, news articles, and other supporting documentation may also be submitted along with the letter of nomination.

The nominations period for 2024 has closed.

No content found

Bruce W. Dearstyne Distinguished Service Award

Award Description

The Bruce W. Dearstyne Distinguished Service Award is a career recognition award established to recognize NAGARA members who have made a significant contribution to promote and enhance the mission of NAGARA. This honor is intended to acknowledge, to the greatest possible extent, NAGARA’s appreciation, esteem, respect and regard. This award is open to all NAGARA members, past and present.

Past Award Recipients:

- Galen Wilson
2022 - No Recipient
2021 - Dr. Lewis J. (Lew) Balladro
2020 - No Recipient
- Preston Huff
- Mary Beth Herkert
2017 - Tanya Marshall
2016 - Kaye Lanning Minchew
2015 No Recipient
2014 - Paul R. Bergeron
 2013 - Jim Berberich
2012 - Roy H. Tryon

Selection Criteria

In selecting those who will receive this career-recognition award, special weight will be given to individuals who have had a broad long-term effect on the association and the profession, and considerations may include, but will not be restricted to, the following: How important might the contribution be to NAGARA’s success? Has the contribution fulfilled an objective of the strategic plan? Has the contribution made a NAGARA-sponsored event/program more successful? Can NAGARA build upon the new partnerships established? Has the contribution demonstrated leadership? Has the contribution demonstrated excellence? How much effort was involved in the contribution? Has membership feedback been positive?

No content found

No content found